Why unfinished projects encourage us to keep stuff

After five years I have conceded defeat. The antique meat safe which I acquired after my in-laws died should not belong to me. For several years it lived at my parents house because it was too large to fit in our flat. One Christmas I spent an afternoon stripping paint but ran out of steam to repaint it. Then we moved into a teeny weeny house.  The meat safe moved in with us – still unfinished. It didn’t fit and sat awkwardly in an alcove, cluttering up a room.  Eighteen months later I have finally realised that the meat safe has to go.

There is no point in acquiring stuff – even if it’s for free. If it doesn’t fit in with your existing life, the one you live now, get rid of it.

Leave a Reply

