Stockpiling

How much stuff do you keep just in case? Keeping a few spares makes perfect sense if you suddenly remember a friends birthday and you don’t want to have to rush out and buy a card, but what if it’s ten years worth of extra stuff?

Over the past few months I have discovered a few stock piles. When I collected all my stationary into one place it fitted in a 30 x 30 cm x 20 cm box – and that’s not including another box of spare sketch books.  I calculated that I had at least ten years worth of stationary based on my current usage rate.

It has also taken me six months to run down our food cupboard because I had so many different types of beans, sauces, condiments, rice, and flour, and six months to run down my supplies of hand cream and moisturisers. Although I claim that wasn’t totally my fault – some of the hand cream was given to me!

These days I’m a lot more cautious about keeping spares and my stationary supplies consist of one set of greeting cards, 10 envelopes, a handful of scrap paper and a notepad.

Leave a Reply

